Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    I figured it was time to make a central thread explaining all of our backup options for WebOS phones. I'm not an expert on this, so I figured if everyone pitches in and helps out, we can build a nice thread to sticky.

Solution: Built-in WebOS backup.
    Backs up:Contacts, list of installed programs, WebOS settings, memos, calendar
    Backs up to: Palm's server
    Pros: If all is functioning well, happens automatically on every Pre ever day.
    Cons: Doesn't always back up daily, and even when it does, it's backups are often flawed. Not the most reliable solution.
    How-To: Should work by default. If not go to Launcer>Backup>and either turn it ON or force a manual backup.

Solution: My dream solution (does not yet exist)
    Backs up:Everything. Does either a complete image of the entire phone or at minimum an image of everything except for the OS itself.
    Backs up to: Some server in the sky as well as my local PC.
    Pros: Backs automatically daily, and does local backups to my PC when I tell it to.
    Cons: Not built-in to the OS.
    How-To: Download this make-believe app from the app store, set preferences, and forget.

Solution: PocketMirror
    Backs up:?
    Backs up to: ?
    Pros: ?
    Cons: High cost.
    How-To:?

Solution: Synching with Google
    Backs up:Complete contact listing including addresses, etc. May even does the photo you have associated to a contact.
    Backs up to: Your gmail account.
    Pros: Backs up all contacts all the time. If you need to restore, you will get them back.
    Cons: Apparently, only new contacts are linked to the google account.
    How-To:
    1) Setup Google Mail Account
    2) Create Google E-Mail Account on phone, therefore creating the account for other applications on the phone such as calendar and contacts.
    3) Open Contacts app.
    4) Tap the pull-down menu on the top left area of the screen.
    5) Tap Preferences & Accounts.