Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    I love using homebrew and installing patches, etc so I'm not a complete beginner.....but my knowledge of my phone and how it works only goes so far. I see a lot of people posting about how they can't wait for Palm to utilize the GPU and how it'll be so much better. I know what a GPU is, but what exactly will it do for the Pre? Will it handle ALL graphics or just more intensive ones (whatever the "more intensive ones" are)?

Also, from what I've read...the Pre has a GPU already inside, but it isn't being used. Is that right?

Just trying to understand everything better. Thanks!
    From what I understand: none of the apps are able to use the existing hardware GPU for rendering. Once they (palm) release the API (or something?) the developers will be able to utilize the full power of the GPU.
    It sounds like you pretty much had it.
    Global Posts
    773 Global Posts
    this is a good thread for you to read.

http://forums.precentral.net/palm-pr...zy-theory.html
    Quote Originally Posted by dodgerblue View Post
    I love using homebrew and installing patches, etc so I'm not a complete beginner.....but my knowledge of my phone and how it works only goes so far. I see a lot of people posting about how they can't wait for Palm to utilize the GPU and how it'll be so much better. I know what a GPU is, but what exactly will it do for the Pre? Will it handle ALL graphics or just more intensive ones (whatever the "more intensive ones" are)?

Also, from what I've read...the Pre has a GPU already inside, but it isn't being used. Is that right?

Just trying to understand everything better. Thanks!
    The short, only-slightly-tech answer is that it will handle all graphics for which there is an API that handles it, and to the extent that programmers use that API.
    You can think of it this way: A Video card in your PC can work in two modes.

1 - Basic old school video display. This is what runs when you initially start it.