1.    #1  
    Alright y'all I'm new here and i'm lost.... it's HUGE in here. I read a few turtoials but still dont have my answer. I just got a Pre today, its not activated, and its on the sign-in screen. How can I "Hacktivate" it, so to speak, so i can mess around in the menu. I know theres a non-root method for installing software, but from reading, it looks like i have to root to hacktivate it first since i dont have service with Sprint. I have VERY little knowledge of Linux other than Android. I rooted my G1 I use to have. I now have the Archos 5 Android Internet Tablet, which out of the box, doesnt feature the "Google experience," like the market for example, and i've learned how to push the google apps to that device. But both of those examples were done on Windows, I didnt have to even touch Linux in any shape or form... not even a simple live cd. Other than Android I've jailbroken plenty of iPhones, of course we all know thats not Linux-based. I'm running Windows 7 64-Bit if that helps! Anyway if anyone can help me It would be very appreciated, thank all!
    You bought a Pre without service??

To "hacktivate" look here....http://forums.precentral.net/webos-i...ta-doctor.html
    Global Posts
    655 Global Posts
    There is no way to get past the activation screen without hacking the phone.
    ---Pretend that every single person you meet has a sign around his or her neck that says, "Make me feel important." Not only will you succeed in sales, you will succeed in life.
  4.    #4  
    Quote Originally Posted by MaxLOL View Post
    There is no way to get past the activation screen without hacking the phone.
    Yea I know that, but to hack the phone am i able to use the easy non-root method or do I have to use the root method. Im trying to by-pass the sign-in screen to the main menu as i want to get into installing program. I'm running Windows 7 64-Bit so if i have to root is there a method for windows?
    Global Posts
    655 Global Posts