1.    #1  
    My Pre has started acting strangely...

Last night about 7p my battery went from 30% to dead in a matter of 3 minutes. Threw it on the touchstone and ignored it.

This morning my Pre was VERY hot... but didn't think anything of it, but noticed that off the touchstone for 10 minutes I lost over 20% of my battery. My Ev icon was lit up.

I power cycled the phone twice, and did 2 soft restarts and the data keeps running.

I checked my usage on Sprint, and over the night I downloaded over 1 gig of data

Turns out it is the email app. I took gmail off, and data stopped. I did another soft reset of the phone and put gmail back on, and again, data just keeps running.

I only have 132megs of data in my gmail account, so I have no idea what it is trying to download!

This is a brand new issue as I've been using my gmail account on my phone for 3 months now.

Any ideas on what to do? I've deleted gmail again from my phone and my data usage is stopped.
  2.    #2  
    ..bump with more info

OK, so I am still having gmail issues with my pre. I think I figured out why it is using data like crazy but don't know why it is all of a sudden doing it, or how to get it to stop besides dumping gmail from my phone (which would suck since I have my POP email being forwarded to my gmail so I can get instant notifications).

It is happening to emails with attachments. I can read the email, and see the attachments (will NOT download them though), but in the body of the email it says 'Retrieving email text' and the little ring keeps on spinning. It never retrieves the text, and data gets stuck running, and will keep running until I either turn data off, or remove gmail from my phone. Even power cycling the phone does not help.

This is a new problem as I was able to get emails with attachments before. No idea why it is doing it, hopefully someone here can help me.
    Global Posts
    2,071 Global Posts
    This problem seems way out there.