1.    #1  
    Hi. I am new to Pre, after 8 years on Windows mobile.

On WinMo, the phone dialer can be used to "spell out" someone's name. For example, typing "5-6-4-6" will find any contacts named "John"

Is there any way to enable this on the Pre? Patches are ok. Right now, I need to pull the keyboard out, or mess with the virtual keyboard (which I find lacks refinement)

Any ideas?
  2.    #2  
    Deleted
    Last edited by Gumbochief; 11/22/2009 at 10:36 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Gumbochief View Post
    Hi. I am new to Pre, after 8 years on Windows mobile.

On WinMo, the phone dialer can be used to "spell out" someone's name. For example, typing "5-6-4-6" will find any contacts named "John"

Is there any way to enable this on the Pre? Patches are ok. Right now, I need to pull the keyboard out, or mess with the virtual keyboard (which I find lacks refinement)

Any ideas?
    Once you have some contacts saved , do as you have stated , it works on the Pre as well.
  4.    #4  
    Quote Originally Posted by Colonel Angus View Post
    Once you have some contacts saved , do as you have stated , it works on the Pre as well.
    SOmething is wrong with my settings then. It is not working. I have hundreds of contacts pulled in with numbers via Exchange Active Sync.

It does not perform as you say.
    I believe you are correct. You can't use the phone keypad to perform this feat. You must slide the keyboard out and type j-o-h-n to locate your contacts using the universal search capability of the Pre. Try it - you'll like it - alot!
  6.    #6  
    Quote Originally Posted by rogerlsturgiss View Post
    I believe you are correct. You can't use the phone keypad to perform this feat. You must slide the keyboard out and type j-o-h-n to locate your contacts using the universal search capability of the Pre. Try it - you'll like it - alot!
    I know the universal feature is there. I just think it makes sense to have it work both ways.