1.    #1  
    I had a patch installed before that hid the NFL/NASCAR apps, but I've updated to 1.3.1 and I guess the patches aren't ready yet? Someone said there's a way to get rid of them permanently with Terminal. How exactly do I do that? Is this sequence right?

1. Open Terminal
    2. type: ipkg remove com.handson.app.nascar
    3. Hit enter

Tried this way and it didn't work....am i missing a step?
    Yeah, sorry, I forgot a step when I posted the instructions on that other thread.

You'll need to do:

mount -o remount,rw /

before running that command, and then

mount -o remount,ro /

after running it. I removed them months ago, so forgot that you needed to remount the filesystem first. You'll also have to reboot after doing this.
  3.    #3  
    So this will totally take them off my Pre....and won't interfere with any subsequent updates of webOS? (Prob a stupid question, but I'm a chemist, not a programmer)
    Quote Originally Posted by dodgerblue View Post
    So this will totally take them off my Pre....and won't interfere with any subsequent updates of webOS? (Prob a stupid question, but I'm a chemist, not a programmer)
    It should, but can't guarantee. About ten minutes ago, I'd have answered with a definite yes, but I got a second 1MB 1.3.1 update just now that reinstalled them. Since then I've hit the refresh button in the updates app a couple times, and nothing, but can't guarantee it.
    Global Posts
    656 Global Posts
    Is that all the update did? Just reinstalled those infernal icons? That's almost surgical.
    Quote Originally Posted by cas_esq View Post
    Is that all the update did? Just reinstalled those infernal icons? That's almost surgical.
    Yeah, the second time that's all it did. Took less time for the "updating" process to occur than it did for the rebooting.
  7.    #7