1.    #1  
    I've spend a lot of time on this forum researching and learning about my new phone and I felt it was time to chime in. To preface things, I'm new to smartphones (my last phone was a SE W810i), so I'm by no means an expert. I do, however, have an iPod Touch that I use like a phone (wifi email/web, apps, music, etc.) just without the actual phone part. I can say, in all honesty, that I would hate to use an iPhone as my primary phone/mobile data device. While the apps are awesome, everything else about the device is much less user friendly/intuitive/easy to use.

So, I like the Pre better than the iPhone, but the Pre obviously is in need of some serious software improvements. I use the phone (CDMA on Bell in Canada) for both pleasure and business and my only REAL complaints are the sluggishness, the shyte battery life (even with the 'entry level' Siedio) and minor issues with a few applications - all of which will be resolved with upcoming updates, I'm sure. Basically, I'm patient and can stand to wait a little while for Palm to work out the bugs. I feel the wait is worth it for a phone that has so many other great features. Better/more/cheaper (even though Canada doesn't even have paid apps yet!) apps would be nice, but this is a bonus and not a requirement or a deal-breaker.

One of my friends built the Palm Pre website and learned about the phone in great detail (and owns an iPhone) and another is high-up in product development at Nokia and both of them are jealous of my Pre. I think that says something.

It seems the smartphone trend (Droid, N900) is heading towards giant phones that are pretty much netbooks with phone 'apps'. To me, this is ridiculous, and makes me appreciate my small, sleek Pre even more.