1.    #1  
    Hi Everyone! Total newbie here. Just got my Palm Pre (with Sprint) and, to be honest, not very happy with it so far. I continually find myself saying "huh...that's another thing I CAN'T do with this phone." I'm sure these are all old news, but:

-Birthdays don't show up in calendar
    -No quicktext or autotext function
    -Signal strength doesn't appear as good in an area where I've never had a problem in the past (although I don't lose calls)
    -Battery runs down fairly quickly even though no apps are open (went from 100% to 28% in one day)
    -Can't remove NASCAR and NFL apps (which I believe is a Sprint thing, not Palm)

I'm debating whether or not to return the Pre and get something else that does the things above. Wanted to ask first, though: Does anyone know how often Palm sends out updates? Anyone know if these issues will be addressed? I don't want to keep this phone "in hopes they'll fix it in future updates" that might come a long time from now or may never come.

Need some encouragement!
    1 - yep, not fixed, but should be.
    2 - glaring issue with non physical keyboards, but not so bad with the Pre.
    3 - had the same issue, but like you, no dropped calls.
    4 - There are some who think you are super cool for having 28 percent battery left at the end of the day. Your phone is still powered on by evening time... what's the problem here?
    5 - Homebrew my friend. You can hide those apps.

Pre is a great phone, but has its issues. The nice thing is that Palm has been very proactive. Many of your issues, sans the battery one, can be fixed or already are via homebrew.
    If you like my Themes, please donate! Thanks!

http://wiseguyandbeyond.blogspot.com

Search function is your friend

Having said that if the phone doesn't work for you do some research and find one that will fit your needs. Unfortunately not every phone will meet the needs of everyone.

I love my Pre, but it's not for everyone.