1.    #1  
    I am new to palm. The Pre is my first palm since I had a palm PDA in 1999. Here is my problem. I have had a hell of a time with google syncing. I have a gmail account for other purposes other than housing all my contact info. I used it for mass emailings to a local alumni group. I decided to enter all my contacts into google under "friends" so at least I have them if needed. So when I did need them, I synced my pre google, and of course I get 150 email addresses in my contacts list as well as the contacts I actually want on my phone. Thats fine, it just takes forever deleting all those emails on the pre. So when they were loaded, I deleted my google sync account, which I didn't realize deletes all the contacts associated with google. So now I'm back to square one (no contacts on my phone). So I figured I can just type all my contacts into Palm desktop, buy that 30 buck app and sync my pre with palm desktop. My problem is that this palm 6.2 program looks old, it doesn't even have a place for "mobile" or "cell" number on it under a specific contact. It has "pager". How do you get around this? I don't want to buy that app if I cant figure out how to enter contact info into my palm desktop.
    Also I already tried companion link to sync gmail to palm desktop, and it didn't work. Help!

Ian
    Sorry to say, but you're missing the entire point of WebOS "synergy." Your approach is quite understandable - you're trying to use the Pre the same way that you used that Palm OS device a decade ago. Time to move on to new paradigms.

Forget Palm Desktop. It's for Palm OS devices, not WebOS. There is no sync software to run on your PC for the Pre - not from Palm, anyway. This is because the Pre's data lives in "the cloud" - on Google, on Palm's servers, on any other web-based contact/email service that is supported.