1.    #1  
    Do you guys think it would ever be possible? I heard the CPU in the Pre is capable of 800MHz+
    I would hope so. It would benefit in the future.
  3.    #3  
    Well would anyone techie come in here and help us out?
    Yeah, I'd love to have a overclocked pre.
    you can do it if you root your pre but its technical and deep...theres some info on here about that somewhere....do a search with key word "overclocking" or "overclock"

Quote Originally Posted by Eric1987 View Post
    Do you guys think it would ever be possible? I heard the CPU in the Pre is capable of 800MHz+
    The ARM Cortex A8 architecture can do greater than 1GHz (see Qualcomm Snapdragon), however, the Texas Instruments OMAP3 3430 is limited to 600MHz. The Palm Pre has the 3430 clocked at 500MHz for longevity, though some have pushed it to 600MHz.
    Quote Originally Posted by Brain_ReCall
    I'm an Embedded Software Engineer. My idea of a Good User Interface is printf().
    And the phone does not get hot enough? Could replace the speaker with a fan I guess.
    There should be enough room since you will have to run a bigger battery. The standard might last 30 seconds....lol Going liquid cooled....I'm in.

Went for 1200Mhz....."smoken"
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Finally Pre; 10/14/2009 at 11:51 AM.
  8.    #8  
    I thought the Pre's processor was at 600MHz just like the iphones?
    Quote Originally Posted by Brain_ReCall View Post
    The ARM Cortex A8 architecture can do greater than 1GHz (see Qualcomm Snapdragon), however, the Texas Instruments OMAP3 3430 is limited to 600MHz. The Palm Pre has the 3430 clocked at 500MHz for longevity, though some have pushed it to 600MHz.
    I hope the next Pre is based off of SnapDragon. That thing looks dead fast. Unless, you know, TI has something faster under their sleeves!
    Global Posts
    138 Global Posts
    OMAP 4. screw qualcomm!