1.    #1  
    Unfortunately it appears as though I will need to use the WebOS doctor in order to get my text messaging sounds back (several threads on this topic here have yet to get these sounds back for me after installing several tweaks).

I have never used WebOS Doctor before, but have read quite a bit on it here on this forum including the thread on what to do for a seriously ill Pre.

I understand that this will just bring my Pre to 1.2.0 and I will then have to update to 1.2.1 manually (not really a big deal), and that I will have to reinstall all my Homebrew apps (again, not a really big deal).

I was going to download the Doctor from Palm - webOS Doctor for Palm Pre for Sprint and I found this statement on the page: "Tip: If connection options appear on your phone's screen when you plug it in, you do not need this tool. Close the webOS Doctor window and disconnect your phone."

I assume what they mean by this is that they really want this tool just to be used to restore a completely bricked phone, not one on which tweaks have been installed that went awry.

Can someone confirm that they have have used WebOS Doctor on a phone that was still functional (gave USB connection options when plugged in) to get it back to "factory installed WebOS"?

Also, if I get the connection options (sync, usb drive, just charge) when connecting the Pre to the USB cable, which would I select?

Thanks in advance!
    Before restoring the 1.2 release with WebOS Doctor, make sure you've backed up your files.

Also you may want to try WebOS Quick Install and use the Device Management Feature and remove each tweak manually. By unchecking boxes in the tweaks doesn't always remove the tweaks or allow it to install properly. See my post here: http://forums.precentral.net/palm-pr...cussion-6.html

or my description of what attempts I had performed before finally coming to the proper solution: http://forums.precentral.net/palm-pr...1-2-1-a-2.html