1. mk3
    Global Posts
    622 Global Posts
    My Pre didn't come with a car charger and since my wife's phone uses the same micro usb port I thought her's would work fine... I was wrong. The charger quit working a minute or so after plugging into the Pre. So I went down to the Sprint store to buy the wife a new charger. The sales rep happily sold me a replacement with the sprint logo on it. That one burned up too. So I bought the Palm branded charger and it works fine. I assume it provides more amps to the phone. Anyone know how much the Pre draws? The crappy sprint brand charger says it outputs .85 amps.
    I'm far from an expert on this, but I will say I believe it depends on what applications you are running. When I'm in my car, I typically run sprint navigation, shoutcast, and bluetooth. With all of those running, my car charger is not able to keep up with it, however, if the screen is turned off, and I turn one of those three things off, it increases the charge slightly.
    Global Posts
    45 Global Posts
    USB standard requires port to yield 500mAmps, so many (not so smart) charger vendors set their product yield at this current value. It may power your Pre, but if your phone is not idle - forget about charging. Since my experiments with Instinct (confirmed with Pre) I assume that you need 1000mA yield to comfortably power/charge Pre and similar power-hungry devices. Don't buy any charger (car or power outlet) if it does not guarantee 1000mA current output. I got my car charger that meets this requirement at Target, and it is not brand name...
    can you post of a link of the charger you bought?