Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Ok, I just got my Pre about 3 days ago, so I am still learning.

I want to watch movies on my Pre. I know that I need to convert the movie to MPEG-4, and I am using a program called DVDFab to do so. If any of you are familiar with this program, I am doing the DVD to Mobile option, then choosing the iPod option. This will convert to the MPEG-4 format.

A couple key notes.......I know that the video resolution needs to be as close as possible to 480x320, the closest option that I can choose with that program is 480x282.

I plugged my Pre up to my computer, chose the USB Drive option, then just drag & dropped the movie into a video folder that I created on the phone. The movie plays just fine, my problem is that the video quality was really not what I thought it would be. I have seen another guy who has a Pre and his video quality is a lot better that what I got with this setup. Now the audio sounded pretty good.......but can anyone help me with getting better video quality???

If I need to use a different program for converting that is cool, hopefully it is free.

Who can help me???
    I can't help you with DVDfab, but I can definitely help.

What you want is a free program called Handbrake.

It will rip DVD's to just about any format you want, and it will also convert videos you already have.

It has a preset for the iphone, which works perfectly on the Pre. At the default quality settings, the video looks AMAZING, but the files are around 1GB per movie.

You can change that by going to the quality setting tab, and changing it to "desired file size."

I find that the average movie still looks really great when I step down to a 500mb file size