Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Global Posts
    427 Global Posts
    Hi everyone!
    I'm brand new to PreCentral, but I've been on CrackBerry for a year, and I'm a Palm user from back in the old days.

As you might guess, I'm planning to upgrade to a new mobile device in the next couple months, and I'm faced with a dilemma.

A new BlackBerry or a Pre?

So I'm asking you, the Pre Experts, to HELP ME by arguing the merits of the Pre.

Here's a little back story on me you can skip if you want.
    Currently I'm using a BlackBerry Curve 8310, which I've had for a year now.
    It's my first Smartphone. Prior to the BlackBerry I used several PalmOS based Sony Clies, and a separate "dumb" phone.
    My Curve was used when I got it, and I've always found it a bit slow, and it's now starting to die a slow painful death.

Now here's a few advantages and disadvantages the Pre has (imo) right away.
    Advantages:
    1 and 2)Full Touchscreen AND a Keyboard. In a Vertical SLIDER configuration no less.
    I can't tell you how often I caught myself taping the screen on my Curve when I first got it, and cursing "Why doesn't this !@#$%^& thing have a touchscreen!".
    However, since I type a lot, touchscreen ONLY devices like the iPhone and BB Storm are out, likewise, I don't like Horizontal sliders like the HTC Dream, as I find them kludgy to use when I'm on the go. The Pre seems about as perfect a form as I can ask for.
    3)Nostalgia. I loved my Clies. If Sony hadn't discontinued the line and Palm hadn't screwed up with the next-gen OS, there's every chance I'd still be happily going about my business with a Clie at my side.

Disadvantages:
    1)I've heard not great things about the battery life. My Curve is lucky to last a full day of what I consider moderate use. I hear the Pre isn't any better.