Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Can't help but noticing more than an average share of people hating on the Pre's battery. While i can relate, i have to say at this point in time (on my second Pre) I am no complaints whatsoever! Even with my first Pre it was great, and here is what i noticed....

In the beginning out of the box the Pre's battery is not primed I guess you can say, now I am no expert on batteries but i know that just by following the manual on topping off and charging when low in the beginning goes along way! Eventually after 4 days or so my Pre's battery life lasted well into the night on a single charge, sometimes even into the following day with min usage!

What gives, why does mine last all day and some only 4hrs or so? Well I realized that 7 days a week at some point for a good amount of time I am in a wifi spot (my job, my parents house, my apt. friends etc..) which saves the battery like you wouldn't believe! Even while i sometimes go into roam at my job, its not as bad because i am connected wirelessly. Now there are other variables like leaving programs in the background running especially Navi while in a non wifi spot (thats a big drainer) and using Pandora for an hour or so is def on that list of hard drainers.

In closing at this point i just throw my Pre on the charger right before bed, take it off first thing in the morning and by 10pm I am somewhere between 20-40% depending on my usage for that day! I have to say i use web, txt, and email (only when it arrives) pretty consistently throughout the day...
    R.I.P Palm Centro (6.5.09)
    New Pre Owner (6.6.09)

I've noticed the same thing. Because I have a far faster than EVDO connection at home, I've noticed that my battery usage drastically increases when I use EVDO. My phone lasts easily all day with WiFi.

Bel, the mostly sane..