Global Posts
    96 Global Posts
    Hi guys,

I'm new to the Precentral forums, and it looks like it'll be a great resource for the Pre and webOS in the future.

I do have to ask though...

I am a Sprint customer and am eligible for the $150 upgrade for a new phone, and have just recently transitioned to the EPRP Data plan. Right now I have an LG Muziq that is on it's last legs (the inner LCD/outer display only work when the phone is one-quarter open - makes calling or any kind of use hard ) and I'm trying to decide between one of two things:

1. Purchasing a Palm Pre now

or...

2. Waiting until October 11th for the HTC Hero.

I really think the Palm is a cool device, except for two things that are bothering me. One is the fact that the keyboard is tiny as ****, and given that I have relatively large fingers this would make texting - or typing of any kind into the phone - a pain in the ***. I hear that "I would adjust" to the keyboard, but I don't want all of my sentences that I type on the phone toui lookp lijke tyhisa. Ya dig? Another pull for me for the Pre is that (apparently) it's got the best hardware on the market - less the slider, or so I've heard, next to the iPhone 3GS. The HTC Hero is running on some fairly outdated chipsets, unless those are being updated for the 10/11 release.

The second is the fact that Palm's very existence is going to depend largely upon the success (or failure) of the Pre. If the Pre's sales are anemic and/or significantly below expectations, and Palm goes belly, then official webOS support is likely to be very scant moving forward. I realize this is something that would be pretty far off or even unlikely to happen at all, but it is a concern in my mind.

Anyway, I really like both phones, I think both will be great, but I just cannot decide.

The Pre is awesome for webOS and the great hardware.

The Hero is awesome for SenseUI and the virtual QWERTY, and the support of the Android community/google.

Help!

Thanks in advance.