1.    #1  
    Im trying to set up my 09 mabook with the tethering app. Im not to sure were to start or what to do. or if its even possible to work on my macbook, can anyone help me
    i would wait for tethering with the new update coming soon
    My Pre is coming tomorrow, and I'll be tethering as soon as I get it to test out Sprint's network and stuff. I'm new to Sprint, so ya. WHEEE
    Global Posts
    167 Global Posts
    Tethering is the same with mac/pc/linux/etc.

All it does is turns your pre into a wireless router. Then you connect to it with whatever you want.

The hard part is installing mytether. There's articles on the site that show you how to do it. You have to root your phone though, unless you buy the $10 version of mytether.
    Quote Originally Posted by Shiggitay View Post
    My Pre is coming tomorrow, and I'll be tethering as soon as I get it to test out Sprint's network and stuff. I'm new to Sprint, so ya. WHEEE
    good luck go to the homebrew section of the forums
    for all the information on tethering
  6.    #6  
    thanks guys
    I actually had a lot of trouble with tethering a mac (it was an 08 macbook pro)

I gave my "donation" for the premium version, and found it to be generally glitchy and unreliable, and I couldn't get the macbook to connect to the internet through it even when it was connected to the wifi and the Pre had a good signal.

The pre could get online, and the mac could get on the WiFi, but couldn't see the internet.

What I finally found that worked, was 5 steps. If you have other versions of MyTether installed, remove them first.

1. Install preware
    2. Us preware to install the free version of MyTether and Timpiece. Installing MyTether through Preware consistently gave me an error message, but worked anyway.
    3. Turned off WiFi before launching tether. MyTether can disable it for you, but like everything else, doing it myself just seemed more reliable.
    4. Launch MyTether, and enable WiFi tethering.