Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Global Posts
    1,008 Global Posts
    Palm Pre Sales Fail to Meet Analyst Expectations - InternetNews.com

I take no position on the data or opinions in this article, but one tidbit I found interesting was this statement:

"Also, non-Pre product shipments in the quarter were lower than expected due to cannibalization by the Pre, Grozovsky said in the report."

In other words, Pre sales are taking away revenue from other Palm devices (which is not surprising, as it's a better device). But it got me thinking -- all of the Pre owners I know came from a previous Palm device. I only have a Pre for development purposes, so while I am new to Palm I don't really constitute a new customer for Palm. I have seen a few people post here that are new to Palm, but I get the impression that the vast majority are former Palm users as well -- is that the case?

The sales trend cited in the article, combined with cannibalization of other products, has got me thinking Palm might not be expanding market share like it needs to with the Pre.
    I'm a former Winmo user. I had a Palm TX didn't really use it much and sold it.
    Global Posts
    20 Global Posts
    I came from a HTC Mogul. Winmo device.
    Global Posts
    153 Global Posts
    I came from a blackberry curve... I was thinking about the treo pro but the software felt archaic compared to webos
    I am completely new to Palm and Sprint. My last phone was very rudimentary (Samsung Blackjack)
    i came from the ATT Tilt which is a WM device
    I came from a Centro already on Sprint.

If you search I believe there is a thread with a poll on this subject.
    Palm Vx -> Treo 600 -> Treo 700p -> Centro -> Pre (Launch Phone 06/06/09) -> AT&T Pre Plus with Sprint EVDO swap -> Samsung Epic 4G w/ Froyo
    I came from the Centro and before that dumbphones, but have had Palm PDAs since the Palm Pilot.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bag of Leaves View Post