Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    No, it's not a random date or a date I have some inside knowledge of as to when the App Catalog comes out of beta.

It's the date that Sprint is supposedly launching not one, but two Android devices (HTC Hero and the Samsung M900/SuperInstinct with hardware keyboard). I'm not here to do a versus. Love the Pre, and most people here do too. However, the lack of apps becomes a more persistent and bothersome shortcoming by the month, and in less than three months (assuming there are no delays), Sprint will be launching two devices with a considerable and developed ondevice app store.

Especially with the Hero, it has GOT to be tempting to jump off the WebOS train for a similar device with thousands of apps ready to go on day one.

1) Do you guys think the App Catalog will be up and running by then?
    2) Roughly how many apps do you think will be in there?
    3) If not, do you think this is a serious and potentially deadly misstep for WebOS on Sprint?

Just trying to start some dialogue.
    the app catalogue will be out of beta by then. someone should ask palm on twitter when it comes out of beta.
    Global Posts
    437 Global Posts
    Where did you hear that the Samsung M900/SuperInstinct will have a hardware keyboard?
    Global Posts
    246 Global Posts
    I think that we need to think of this with some sort of perspective... The iPhone/iTouch App Store didn't exist in any form when the iPhone came out. I had my iTouch for 6 months before the App Store debut.
    Global Posts
    57 Global Posts
    DAMN!!! in that case i should've waited to get the pre!!! i just got it today and i thought the "my touch"/ htc hero would only come out for t-mo. shucks!!! lol
    Global Posts
    37 Global Posts
    I think there will be a ton more apps by then but honestly I am not bothered by the lack of apps, with over 100 homebrew and growing, the community has really stepped up to the plate to fill the void.
    Global Posts