1.    #1  
    Hello all!

The camera application on my Pre has worked flawlessly... up until a few weeks back. Now every-so-often when I open the camera app, it will sit there on the grey screen with the camera icon in the middle and go nowhere. I can even go as far as to rotate the phone and the little camera icon will flip, but the actual camera doesn't start.

Now, I've found that if I open the slider and flick it closed, the camera will start. Strangely enough if this is done to "fix" it, the camera will work fine again. But a few hours later, it's back to the same ol' problem.

Has anyone experienced this issue? Any feedback/suggestions/similar issues would be appreciated.

Thanks!
    I'm no expert on the matter, but I've worked with many electronic devices. It sounds like the phone is waiting for a signal line to go high/low from the camera indicating it is ready to be used. And it sounds like that connection is not being properly made, so that you have to flick the screen up and down. This probably temporarily reconnects the signal in question, allowing the camera app to start.

Maybe pop the cover off and see if you notice any loose ribbon cables or take it to the store, I'm sure you can replace it for that reason.
  3.    #3  
    Yeah, once I discovered that a flick of the screen will get the camera to work, I figured it was something with the hardware. I was trying to avoid having to replace the phone... but I suppose it can't be helped.

Thank you for the quick response!
    Quote Originally Posted by Krudmon View Post
    Hello all!

The camera application on my Pre has worked flawlessly... up until a few weeks back. Now every-so-often when I open the camera app, it will sit there on the grey screen with the camera icon in the middle and go nowhere. I can even go as far as to rotate the phone and the little camera icon will flip, but the actual camera doesn't start.