Global Posts
    27 Global Posts
    Just a question I was hoping a more Tech Savvy person could answer for me...I am not Linux savvy at all and was wondering is there any point to rooting my Pre if I am not tech savvy or is it still a good thing to do?
    Quote Originally Posted by sward78 View Post
    Just a question I was hoping a more Tech Savvy person could answer for me...I am not Linux savvy at all and was wondering is there any point to rooting my Pre if I am not tech savvy or is it still a good thing to do?
    Here are some of the things you can do with a rooted Pre:

# Tethering
    # Enabling Hidden Features
    # Change the Default notification.wav Sound
    # Hide/Delete The NASCAR App
    # Modifying Stock Applications
    # Global Search Addons Tutorial
    # Flashlight
    # Drag Down Status Bar Menus
    # Add / Delete Pages in the Launcher
    # Edit the background of Dialer / Lock screens
    # Random Wallpaper Switching
    # Dynamic DNS for your EV-DO connection
    # Adding an option to turn Phone on/off
    # Add Words to AutoCorrect Dictionary
    # Brightness
    # Camera Modifications & Additions
    # Camera Remote View
    # Confirm Deletion on Email
    # Fix Email Attachments
    # Roam Control
    Global Posts
    194 Global Posts
    Here are some other things you could do:

I would advise not rooting unless you really know what you're doing and aren't risk-averse. Anyone can do it, but you have to decide if the risks are worth the rewards...

Brett
    Last edited by Nrbelex; 06/26/2009 at 01:47 PM.
    Global Posts
    137 Global Posts
    I'm going to agree with Nrbelex if you have to ask the question.

I rooted my Pre in about 5 minutes, however using "vi" as a text editor is an every day occurrence for me. You have to be at least somewhat familiar with a *nix terminal environment to do many of the hacks that deesugar mentions once you get the phone rooted.