1.    #1  
    I joined my phone to a WiFi network today and did some network sniffing. I found out that the Pre does not use the WiFi network for AOL IM and Google Chat. The traffic was still going out over EVDO even though the Wifi signal strength meter was full.

I have a theory as to why this is the case; it's so that your phone isn't constantly getting kicked off AIM and Google Chat as you move in and out of WiFi networks. However, it would be nice to be able to override this manually; for example if you know you're going to be at a location with WiFi for a few hours, using it for AIM and Gchat would really save on battery power.

I'm not complaining, I'm just pointing this out because some of you might find it interesting.
    I'm still new to my PRE, but I believe you could put your phone to "airplane mode" and still have the WiFi activated. This then forces the phone to not use the EVDO and only the WiFi. The issue is you would not be able to receive phone calls (I think).
  3.    #3  
    Quote Originally Posted by OppressioN View Post
    I'm still new to my PRE, but I believe you could put your phone to "airplane mode" and still have the WiFi activated. This then forces the phone to not use the EVDO and only the WiFi. The issue is you would not be able to receive phone calls (I think).
    If Airplane mode is going to be useful it has to turn off all RF transceivers to comply with FAA regulations. No cel, no Wifi, no bluetooth, no GPS. That's the whole point of Airplane mode; letting you keep using the phone while allowing you to prove to a flight attendant that you're not putting out a few watts of RF.
    Quote Originally Posted by zorinlynx View Post