Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    ...is the fact just about all the programs are based on web languages. Because of this, Palm will most likely avoid the issues that Windows Mobile, Nokia and RIM have where certain apps will only work with certain phones.

When Palm ends up having the EOS or whatever other phone comes out, WebOS should be able to just render the app to fit on that device screen....plus, the phones hardware will have a much less impact on which apps can be run since its all off of HTML5 and javascript.

I wonder if this is one of their reasons for going down this route?
    Global Posts
    773 Global Posts
    I wonder if they thought of that?
    Global Posts
    4 Global Posts
    The idea of the Palm WebOS is definitely innovative and interesting. But as a mobile developer I can tell you that I don't think they will ever get enough momentum to really do much. Meaning that there are so many applications for windows mobile and other's such as Java based apps and iPhone apps that they will likely get lost in the crowd. I have seen some of the best ideas never get off the ground. They came to market too late and with only so many developers they will just not get their attention at this point.
    Quote Originally Posted by mbldev View Post
    The idea of the Palm WebOS is definitely innovative and interesting. But as a mobile developer I can tell you that I don't think they will ever get enough momentum to really do much. Meaning that there are so many applications for windows mobile and other's such as Java based apps and iPhone apps that they will likely get lost in the crowd. I have seen some of the best ideas never get off the ground. They came to market too late and with only so many developers they will just not get their attention at this point.