Global Posts
    96 Global Posts
    It is hard to have a concrete take away from the past 2 days I have spent with my pre. The simplicity of it is that things will eventually be ok right. I mean three months from now Palm will have worked out all hardware issues and all major software issues, cause they are a company on fumes. But a simply nice exchange at a sprint store will fix it I hope. It has in the past. But it is to bad palm needs to release this phone before it is ready. Overall I am very happy. I am very much a tech/gadget lover, but I have been using a Moto Q for the past 2 years. Windows Mobile 5. Blah.

Anyways I love the experience. So far so good. Its really small and snug in my hand, and very powerful and responsive.
    Yet it lacks the polish on both the hardware and software end that make me worry if Palm the company will even be able to survive long enough to make this phone amazing.

This phone is very plastic feeling. the new touchstone back is better, but the screen really needs to be glass. Furthermore I think the whole front surface could be glass, yet have that curve and the gesture area. I wish the phone was also a little bit wider. I think I could live with it be a little wider, taller, for some bigger keyboard keys and memory card support. It really surprises me that palm felt they needed the phone to be that small.

The screen issues are also really annoying. There are probably a lot of factors to this. Heat, manufacturing, and stress to the gesture area i guess. Something that glass would help in strength and heat dissipation. I have a dead pixel and the distortion. You can some really funky screen curves wit polarized glasses on.