Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    I'm not trying to take sides, or be a "fanboy" of a company. I'm just a poor recent graduate who's in between schools and trying to cure my gadget fix while working a relatively low paying job.

Ok, now that that's out of the way, my question is whether or not Sprint can extend their exclusivity period with Palm and their Pre. Also, I am unfamiliar with how ATT dealt with the exclusivity with Apple. I read that they also had a short time exclusivity at the time. Obviously now it seems like it will last forever. Perhaps history will repeat?

I understand that some people will say:

"Why does it matter who gets it, as long as you get the Pre you shouldn't worry about who else, on ____ carrier has it."

From an ego standpoint, it really doesn't matter to me. So why not just get it on Sprint, which is cheaper anyways? Because the people I call most are all on Verizon. Although Sprint plans are definitely cheaper (I've done my homework on that), the amount of minutes I use on Verizon customers makes it a wash.

So back to the original question. Sprint has it exclusive till end 2009. ATT and Verizon claim they will also be getting it in early 2010, supposedly after the 6 month time exclusivity with Sprint ends. Could ATT and Verizon be lying? The fact that Jon Rubenstein didn't immediately shoot those claims down either means they're true, or Jon is hoping that they'll be able to sell on those carriers (of course). Dan Hesse already outright said the exclusivity ends after 2009. But could they extend it? Or is it too late?

Thanks all! Been reading a long time and you've all been super helpful! (some more than others obviously )
    None of us know what the contract between Palm and Sprint says.

Once the Pre launches in Europe, there will be unlocked GSM Pre's available. Some will sell in online stores and other will sell on Ebay. Once that happens, I am sure ATT and T-Mobile will have some Pre's on their network in the States.