webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Devices >  Palm Pre and Pre Plus > Why does a cell phone need Wi-Fi
Why does a cell phone need Wi-Fi

Old 05/10/2009, 06:33 PM   #1 (permalink)

Please forgive my ignorance. I've been using Palm handheld devices for 10 years (currently using T/X) but never moved up to their smartphones. I'm just curious as to why you need WiFi with a phone that can always connect to the internet. Are there certain situations where the cell connection is not adequate/appropriate for web browsing? Is there an advantage to a WiFi connection over the cell connection? Any insight would be greatly appreciated!
klynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/10/2009, 06:53 PM   #2 (permalink)

You pretty much answered your own questions there. There are times where you may not have cell service and you need to be connected. Wifi is also faster, especially if you are out of 3g range. I have a blackberry w/o wifi and live in a very poor service area, even with the airave(which is not 3g capable even though it does boost me to full service) data transfer is horrible. I time out trying to dl small apps all the time. Sending an email with a pic attached takes upwards of 15 minutes every time. I look forward to a phone with wifi.
edubz13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/10/2009, 06:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Editor-in-Chief

Quote:
Originally Posted by klynngullo View Post
Please forgive my ignorance. I've been using Palm handheld devices for 10 years (currently using T/X) but never moved up to their smartphones. I'm just curious as to why you need WiFi with a phone that can always connect to the internet. Are there certain situations where the cell connection is not adequate/appropriate for web browsing? Is there an advantage to a WiFi connection over the cell connection? Any insight would be greatly appreciated!