1.    #1  
    I'm a business owner but I do business all over the globe. I need quad band but Palm doesn't seem to be interested in including that, even at a premium.
    The thing that attracts me to the Pre is the ability to switch between apps.
    It will takes quad band to close the deal
    Considering they haven't even said anything about the GSM version of the Pre, this is a little premature. Let's wait and see at the MWC if they announce a quadband version or not.
    Palm's existing GSM phones all have quad band radios so I would expect any GSM Pre to be the same. I would suggest holding off purchasing a Pre until a quad band GSM version is available in the US.
    Global Posts
    122 Global Posts
    I'm assuming you're talking about Quad Band 3G, which doesn't seem at all common. I would really like it if it did provide 4 3G bands - give us more choice of carrier. Though I wonder if that would make battery life worse, by adding a 4th 3G frequency?
    Quote Originally Posted by ipsi View Post
    I'm assuming you're talking about Quad Band 3G, which doesn't seem at all common. I would really like it if it did provide 4 3G bands - give us more choice of carrier. Though I wonder if that would make battery life worse, by adding a 4th 3G frequency?
    No, I am talking about Quad band GSM/Edge. Supporting all 3G bands would be nice of course but the phone will still work if it can pickup a GSM signal.
    Global Posts
    122 Global Posts
    In which case I'm slightly confused - most Palm phones support all four GSM/Edge bands, as far as I'm aware. My 680 did, and my Treo Pro does. Which ones don't?
    In which case I'm slightly confused - most Palm phones support all four GSM/Edge bands, as far as I'm aware. My 680 did, and my Treo Pro does. Which ones don't?
    I think the OP is just hoping the Pre will be Quad Band.
    The other posters said it's most likely to be Quad Band.

Although this comment is a little confusing: