Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By nkelsey
  • 1 Post By bbito
  1.    #1  
    Warning, noob alert!
    Hey, I'm new to webOS and to this forum (sorry if I shouldn't be starting a new thread). However I am not new to amazing mobile devices that have been unfairly abandoned by the large companies as I own the Nokia n900 and n9 phones, amongst others. I also have reasonable linux experience, and do some programming, though I'm no pro with either. I currently own two Palm Pre 2's, one I got off a bad ebay seller (to cut a long story short I ended up with the device and a refund), it has a screen problem and one day I will try replacing the screen. The other device is in the post and should arrive in a few days (used, like new condition).
    I've worked though the 2014 guide using my dodgy device and have bypassed activation and installed all the nice patches and the kernel, as preparation for when my better device arrives. There are two main things I would like to do that I am struggling to understand:

1) I would like all the bits needed for MotionApps Classic to run on my device. I have read through some threads and found fairly easy to follow instructions for getting Classic on webOS 2.1.0 but don't know about 2.2.4.

2) I would like to create a space to install Debian onto my device. I have found a guide to doing this manually but understand that Meta-Doctor is the recommended way.