Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By kristinoberhaus
  • 1 Post By kristinoberhaus
  1.    #1  
    I have a brand new Palm pre 2.
    I'm not a techie guy.
    I am aware server has been closed down and searched online for anyway to bring this phone to life...including installing android but have found nothing. Just some unreliable articles,
    Can someone suggest anyway to make the Palm pre 2 usable again. I have hear of LuneOS but not sure if I can use it with the palm pre 2 and if yes, how to?
    I really hope I will not have to throw the phone in the bin.
    Will anyone be kind enough to suggest (in the most simple possible way).
    Much appreciated
    What state is your phone in right now?

I have just gone through a couple of resets on my phone, and I have written myself my own PalmPre2 for dummies, so if I can help, I will be more than happy to and keep the "tech speak" out of it.
    oyster07 and TJs11thPre like this.
  3.    #3  
    Quote Originally Posted by kristinoberhaus View Post
    What state is your phone in right now?

I have just gone through a couple of resets on my phone, and I have written myself my own PalmPre2 for dummies, so if I can help, I will be more than happy to and keep the "tech speak" out of it.
    Thanks loads.
    The state of the phone is "brand new", never used so I might not even be able to create an account.
    I will be very interested to read your PalmPre2 for dummies
    A "brand new" Pre2 will need to be activation bypassed by putting into devmode.

You also may need to upgrade to webOS 224 using the appropriate Doctor file to update, which you do by running an app on your PC and connecting your phone.

Then you need to install Preware, also by connecting to PC then using app called WOSQI. You must have the latest versions of this app and java for it to work.

Once you have Preware you can install Internals Pro and then start installing patches and apps necessary to connect the older device to newer internet protocols.