Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Global Posts
    6 Global Posts
    A complete newbie to webOS here. We purchased a Verizon flavor Palm Pre 2 from Amazon and activated it on Page Plus Cellular through Kitty Wireless; just about everything works well. Shortky after activating the phone, which came with webOS 2.0.1, the phone started a very long download of webOS 2.1 -- the download consumed three days -- and then installed 2.1 without a hitch.

Three Homebrew apps we wanted to install right away were freeTether, the upgraded Google Maps, and Torch; we got the first two installed fine after installing Preware with WebOS Quick Installer 4.5.0. But to get to that point, we needed to turn Developer Mode ON.

Finally, to the question: now that I have installed the apps from Preware, should I leave Developer Mode ON, or should I turn it OFF?

I apologize for asking such a newbie question, but, after all, I am a newbie. Thank you for your patience.
    Developer mode only opens access through the USB connection.
    So unless a person has physical usb access to your device (e.g. you leave it plugged in and walk away from terminal), its safe to leave on.

Turning off will not impact your preware use once installed on device.
    Last edited by MudShark22; 10/10/2013 at 09:01 PM.
    This space for rent or lease. Inquire within.
    I've never turned mine off once its been activated

Sent from my HTC6990LVW using Board Express
    Global Posts
    6 Global Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MudShark22 View Post
    Developer mode only opens access through the USB connection.
    So unless a person has physical usb access to your device (e.g. you leave it plugged in and walk away from terminal), its safe to leave on.

Turning off will not impact your preware use once installed on device.
    Concise and to the point; thank you.
    Since you noted three Preware that you needed to get, I'd say that you should also consider a few others: