1.    #1  
    So I recently bought a palm pre 2 on ebay for a good price. I did don't plan on using it till maybe april. I am new to webos but usually just figure stuff out and have been just playing with the phone in dev mode. I feel like I have done about as much as I can while unactivated. I have a few questions regarding palm pre 2 and webos on it.
    The phone currently has webos 2.1. Otherwise I love the form factor and webOs seems pretty good.

I chose webOs on this reasoning.
    Apple = closed system
    Andoid = Just don't like
    Windows = I want to get away from windows although I have no problems with their phones.
    WebOS = perfect

Anyways...

-Should I upgrade to 2.24?
    -If I were to overclock it, what kernel should I use?

-Do I need to wait till I activate it to do anything like...
    -Upgrade to 2.24
    -Install apps
    -Overclock

-If It is possible to do any of the above while unactivated, how do I do it?
    ehh, there are some threads on the changes in 2.2.4 in the Pre 2 subforum, decide for yourself
    Uberkernel is the only option out there (non-experimental) IIRC

I'm not activated either (pre 2 )
    you can bypass activation using some method, some tweaking is needed to access the official app catalog. (I can't give you instructions or anything, because I'm on my pre and also because I don't remember)
    the app Impostah is your friend (activating without cell service and getting Palm profile w/o service)
    also, preware installs no matter what
    I'm sure google and other members can give you more help, sorry
  3.    #3  
    Thanks for even a reply. I asked about 2.2.4 because I have read some pretty... not great things
    Quote Originally Posted by jjames888 View Post
    Thanks for even a reply. I asked about 2.2.4 because I have read some pretty... not great things