1.    #1  
    I've been trying to search for this problem rather than make a new post, but so far I've been unsuccessful.

Here's the problem: I have a Pre 2 (Verizon) to franken with my current Sprint Pre-. The hardware swap is not going to be a problem - I can do that.

My concern is the Meta-doctor. I have followed the Wiki instructions up to the point of modifying my Palm Profile. But before I did that, I decided to connect my current Pre- to computer just to make sure that they are recognizing each other.

Connected via USB, and the phone started charging, but I have no indication of it connecting to Ubuntu. I am an absolute newb to Linux - about 24 hours. I was able to figure out how to get novacom, metadoctor, and palm sdk on, but I have no idea to test to see if they're working. I also don't know how to find them on my computer!

When I do a search I find everything installed over on the Windows partition, but I don't know if I've done it right on Ubuntu. Are there any videos to show me how?

Thanks -
  2.    #2  
    I think where I'm stuck is in downloading the Palm SDK - the Palm website says:

Installing the SDK on Ubuntu Linux

A note about PDK development on Linux: The current SDK for Linux includes headers and libraries needed to do PDK development for the device and for the emulator. It also includes an arm-gcc toolchain for compiling applications for the device. If you are running a 32-bit i686 Linux desktop, you should be able to use the standard g++ compiler. (On x64 Linux, the native desktop toolchain will generate x64 code, which will not work in the emulator.)
    Update the Package Repository Information

Update the Package Repository Information to /etc/apt/sources.list:

If you are using 10.04 (Lucid Lynx):

deb Index of /virtualbox/debian/ lucid non-free

If you are installing on 9.04 (Jaunty Jackalope):

deb Index of /virtualbox/debian/ jaunty non-free

Download and register the OracleŽ public key for apt-secure: