Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes
  1.    #1  
    Hey guys.

New PalmPre2 owner here. Figured i should get a piece of this company before it fades into history. I have been lurking on this site for a couple of weeks, so i'm not completely a newbie.

FYI, my previous phone was a iPhone3GS. (I am a developer, albeit not a mobile developer). And this is my first Palm/WebOS product.

Alright, so i've been trying to make my Pre2 my primary phone for a week now, and although i really like the interface and UI, i cannot stand the instability and random restarts.

My Pre2: GSM unlocked from the U.K., in use in Australia.

I have not installed PreWare, or hacked/modded this phone in any way.

The pre2 keeps restarting daily. I have read about the loose battery issue, but it restarts when it's sitting on the desk, without being moved.

I have removed all apps i have installed from the App Catalog, backed up the phone, and done a secure erase several times. But none of this has helped. Just today, i made an call, and when i wanted to hang up, i looked at the phone and it had the HP boot logo...WHILE i was on the call. ***?? I usually leave the phone app, the messages app and the email app open and running.

Any suggestions will be helpful. I hope this doesn't turn out to be a waste of money, as i bought the phone(and accessories) outright. So far this has been the most unstable phone i have ever owned.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Cheers
    Try to doctor it.
    I would reflash it with the webOS doctor and see if anything changes.
  4.    #4  
    I have downloaded the 2.1 GSM doctor .jar file. (i'm on MacOSX Snow Leopard(10.6)), but i do not know how to proceed. Any suggestions?

Thanks for the replies.