1.    #1  
    let me start this by saying I have no inside info, and I have no knowledge whatsoever about the technical aspects.

however, seeing how *relatively* easy it is to convert the pre classic into the pre plus and all pres to the pre 2,regardless of gsm or cdma carrier...considering the pre 2 processor and memory fit into the same ? Motherboard as the original pres...and considering all the supposed excess inventory of pre's in canada and pre pluses on vzw, att, and other carriers...

isn't it possible that hp and palm bought back the excess inventory and rebadged them with a new front half with the glass screen and microusb, changed the internals a little, added webOS 2.0, and wallah, the "franken pre" also known as the pre 2?

this may be the only rationale for vzw agreeing to carry the pre 2...perhaps they worked out a deal with hp???

again, I also have no clue what I'm talking about and all this may not even be technically possible.

since we have no official news from webOS land, might as well speculate...
    they may have used alot of the same building specs but doubtful of the using excess pre's and pre pluses . There would have been no replacement phones if this were true . And trust me there have been alot of replacments. Ltm ltm
    ĦṔ-Ḷṫ-Ŧḯη
    Here is a direct link to webOS Doc for all carriers
    http://www.webos-internals.org/wiki/...octor_Versions
    P.S. if i have helped you and you are thankful please hit the thanks button to the right---->
    the labor cost would be more than the phone. And the cpu isn't replaceable.
    Hmmm.... unlikely IMHO.