1.    #1  
    OK, my question is 2 fold. Long story short, I have moved to an area which doesn't service Sprint. I've been roaming for a few months now and didn't want to give up my pre or Sprint. Iwireless (a Tmobile affiliate) has told me that I can activate an unlocked device on their network which is why this unlocked pre 2 (when it comes out) would be good for me. My question is, can I activate my current Palm profile with a new pre2 on a new network? My second question, is what I'm going to try to do even possible or have I been mislead by the Iwireless associates? Iwireless has one of the best plans out there that I've seen and it's even cheaper than Sprint with similiar specs, 79.99 unlimited Talk, text, web, unlimited mobile to mobile, 5pm n&w, free roaming etc. Thanks in advance.
    Phones in Family pre> pre> pre> Centro> Rant
    Palm profile is yours has nothing to do with the carrier. I moved from att to verizon with the same profile.

-- Sent from my Palm Pre using Forums Beta
    Note that the current setup (I don't know if it is changing with webOS or the Pre2) is that you must activate the unlocked device on an "official carrier" (i.e. current provider) in order to access the App Catalog.

This is pretty bad considering the Pre2 will be sold direct by HP US and HP UK unlocked, so they have probably changed the implementation, but there's no way to know.

ALSO, if iwireless is T-Mobile, then you would be 2G only, since T-Mobile is AWS and the unlocked US device will most likely be UMTS (AT&T, more popular) for 3G. HP would be smart to have the Pre2 be penta-band (works on AWS and UMTS).
    Arthur Thornton

Former webOS DevRel Engineer at Palm, HP, and LG
    Former webOS app developer (built Voice Memos, Sparrow, and several homebrew apps and patches)
    Former blogger for webOS Nation and webOS Roundup
    Quote Originally Posted by GuyFromNam View Post