1.    #1  
    Hello.

I'm a total newbie when it comes to phones. I have no idea what's what, so please bear with me. Now, with that out of the way, my partner and I have an at&t plan. He uses an iphone, and I've had a dumb phone for a long time. That phone is old, sluggish, runs out of battery in an hour, and turns off randomly; not to mention, it's ancient.

I was looking at a lot of unlocked, no-contract phones and came across the palm pixi plus. It's a cute, slim, simple smartphone that I'd be very interested in. On amazon, it's around $45. However, some listings say "palm pixi plus verizon only" while others say "sprint only" or "att only." Others say unlocked.

From what I understand, there are 2 types of phones - gsm and cdma. Cdma is limited to verizon/sprint, and gsm is att and t-mobile. So, if I want to just stick my old sim card into a pixi phone, I need to buy a gsm phone, right? Or does it not matter? The gsm phones are $20+ more expensive than the cdma pixies - is there a reason why? Obviously I'd want to buy a verizon phone if it's cheaper, if I can still use it on my att plan.

Also, can I easily put my old phone's sim card into a pixi? Or do I need to get a completely new data plan? What is my best option?

Thanks for any help!
    There are a few options, GSM Pixi (no WiFi) unlocked, GSM PixiPlus (with WiFi) unlocked, or AT&T PixiPlus (with WiFi)...

Do not touch Verizon or Sprint they are CDMA only no SIM card slot...

You could also use a Veer, they are small, cute, more powerful then a PixiPlus but same screen size...
    Any webOS phone model that is GSM takes a full size SIM... (i.e.: regular or old school size) so the one from your dumb phone should work.

You are on AT&T, so it will also matter what type of plan you have. If you put a webOS phone on AT&T they will make you pay for data and not the dumb phone kind (WAP)...

Any AT&T branded or unlocked GSM model for North America will work for your carrier.