Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    So I'm very new to the palm rooted palm webos/linux thing, I use to have a jailbroken iphone and it was pretty sweet, but I now have a palm pixi (not a fan of sliders... or thick phones [not jean friendly]) and I bypassed setting up a palm account and as a result (I think) I cant access the app store from my phone even within a wifi network (I dont have a data plan nor do I want one...) anybody know how to remedy this situation without me getting a data plan, I'm not even sure if this problem is caused by my lack of a data plan or coincidentally my lack of a palm account. Among the homebrew apps there are a few others I'd like access to.
    I can log on the net (within a wifi network) on my phone but even if I use a computer and send the app directly to my phone it denies me access.
    I'm perfectly fine with the selection of homebrew apps, but it'd be cool to get a few of the palm approved ones, I'm not a heavy phone user anyway. but any help would be greatly appreciated!
    how did you avoid activation, if you used the meta-doctor, then you should run the "first use" app and set up a profile, if you used Palms developer activation, then you can't access the app catalog
    Global Posts
    816 Global Posts
    Along the same lines, I unlocked a Palm Pixi. Gr8. I activated a Palm profile on it using an at&t sim card. Gr8. I removed the card and used Wifi and even installed apps from the catalog via Wifi. Gr8.
    THEN (nooo)
    I put it in developer mode, installed preware and other homebrew apps and then opened preware, it told me to update apps. I said OKaaay (like a nincompoop) and now it won't download anything from the catalog AND it says I need to put in a sim card to log into my phone. BOOOOOO!

Anything I can do without having to metadoctor?
    ...This programming stuff is actually addictive but really hard :/
    Are you using your phone as just a wifi device? Or are you using it to make calls and stuff?