1.    #1  
    got a pixi coming from a treo 755p and notice all these post about patches or homebrew and want to know if their needed , useful to my pixi - understand they will customize my phone and i do love customizing which is better, easy to install and safe to install homebrew or a patch that won't crash my pixi or destroy it causing me to have reset - did that twice reset
    i am a novice but follow instructions well
    very useful these patches are . They add customization to your phone along with functionallity. Yes they are needed in alot of cases. It just depends on how you want to change it.
    ĦṔ-Ḷṫ-Ŧḯη
    Here is a direct link to webOS Doc for all carriers
    http://www.webos-internals.org/wiki/...octor_Versions
    P.S. if i have helped you and you are thankful please hit the thanks button to the right---->
    Patches add missing features to the Messaging, Email, Calendar, Phone, Browser, and other apps.

.... It's pretty much customizing your device to suite your everyday needs.
    patches add back many of the features that are missing from your treo, and provide almost unlimited customization of your phone.

Preware is like the 'app catalog' for patches and homebrew goodness.

once you have it, there are hundreds of patches to become your new addiction.

you can't brick the phone, and it's super easy once you read up on it.

good preware documentation app in the palm catalog gives you great info for 99 cents, too.
    Have you noticed that when you compose a text/sms message the Enter/Return key sends the text/sms, rather than letting you start a new line. There is a patch that adds the New Line feature.
    Just one example of good patching.
    Quote Originally Posted by san7697 View Post

which is better, easy to install and safe to install homebrew or a patch that won't crash my pixi or destroy it ...