1.    #1  
    i am trying to install preware. i did like the forums and some videos i seen, but when i hook up my phone to the usb cable and hit charge only it seems like it isn't connecting. it keeps saying searching for device. can someone give me a some suggestions and make them in laymans terms cause i am not that tech savvy.

thank you.
    are you in developer mode? also, make sure you use the palm cable that came with the phone. try resetting the phone completely and don't connect it to the PC until it is fully booted.

are you trying to use the stand alone installer, or are you using Quick Install?
  3.    #3  
    how do you put in developer mode? resetting the phone? and i am using quick install.
    type webos20090606 and tap the icon that appears, then reset when it asks you.

if you don't know that, you better stop and read the QuickInstall instructions thread again. it isn't hard, but you need to follow the directions to make sure it works.
    Quote Originally Posted by navyairframer View Post
    i am trying to install preware. i did like the forums and some videos i seen, but when i hook up my phone to the usb cable and hit charge only it seems like it isn't connecting. it keeps saying searching for device. can someone give me a some suggestions and make them in laymans terms cause i am not that tech savvy.
    The Preware Homebrew Documentation app in the official app catalog is written just for this purpose.

Search for "Preware" in the app catalog, and take it from there ...

-- Rod
    WebOS Internals and Preware Founder and Developer
    You may wish to donate by Paypal to donations @ webos-internals.org if you find our work useful.
    All donations go back into development.
    www.webos-internals.org twitter.com/webosinternals facebook.com/webosinternals
  6.    #6