Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Newbie here - I searched and didn't seem to see this question elsewhere - my apologies if it's obvious.

I'm a current Blackberry user dying to get off ATT and considering the jump back to a Palm device. I currently have wireless in my Dell laptop via ATT card and well...it's ATT service, so it's relatively unreliable (in my area and in my experience).

For the Pixi Plus, can you use the Mobile Hotspot and make/receive calls at the same time? My usage requires internet access via my laptop and making calls at the same time.

Bottom line, if I get a Pixi Plus, can I cancel my laptop wireless card?

Thanks for any help...
    Yes, you should be able to do that.
  3.    #3  
    Excellent - thx.

Follow-up question...I'm assuming the connection speed is comparable to my existing card. My only experience was tethering back in the Treo days, which worked in a pinch, but was not an everyday solution.

Again, thanks for the speedy reply.
    With a pixi plus on Verizon, you won't be able to use the hotspot while you are on a call. You won't lose your connection from the laptop to the hotspot, but it won't let you access the internet while on the phone.

Not sure about the other vendors.
    Sprint does not offer a tether app. (but there are ways around that). I have the Palm Pre and have Mytether 2.0.4 (which has some bugs but it's manageable) and i make and receive calls and text while tethering perfectly fine. Now Verizon will have a tether app for their palm plus and pixi plus but will also charge a tether charge which if it's verizon it's expensive.
    According to the technology NO. webosuser is incorrect.

If you use a call you shouldn't be able to receive data which means no mobile hotspot while your talking. (unless Verizon comes out with a voip option which hides itself as the phone, which while possible is unlikely)

The speed should be 560kbps - 1.5mbps which is comparable to DSL, or a cheap Cable line.