1.    #1  
    Hi,

I am considering getting a Treo 650 and would probably be out buying one as we speak if my prepurchase had not revealed some of issues on crippled Bluetooth on these devices. I could really use some help sorting through the facts as suggested to be my google. So I have some questions:

1) What differences are there among the functionality of the Treo 650s offered by the Cingular, Verizon, and Sprint? I am specifically concerned about the Bluetooth functions, but I have seen indications that Verizon at least has also crippled what can be done with the SD card. For the carriers that do some level of crippling, have they made any indication they might offer an update to uncripple in the future?

2) I'm new to Bluetooth, so I may be making a mountain out of a molehill. I know I don't care about DUN functionality. I think I do care about OBEX and perhaps OPP functionality. What can and can't be done with a phone without these profiles? Can I sync my calendar/contacts with my PC? Can I upload programs to the Treo? Data? Mp3s? Pictures? FWIW, my desktop system is Linux, if anyone can speak to that situation specifically.

3) I'm also new to cellular data services. If a plan promises x anytime minutes, unlimited data, is the data really free and unlimited. Or does surfing the web or sending email or whatnot cost minutes, and its just the bandwith that's unlimited?

Thanks,
    Jay
    I have a Sprint Treo 650, and use BT DUN with my powerbook. I also sync my Treo via BT, I also send apps to my Treo using BT file exchnage on my powerbook instead of doing a hotsync if I want it right away. I switched to Sprint from Cingular becuase they offered a cheaper unlimited data plan.
    Jimmie Geddes
    Quote Originally Posted by jbloodworth