Page 1 of 19 12345611 ... LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Treocentral claims no responsibility for the information given here by me. I am not giving instruction on how you can make a custom ROM. I am just explaining how I made my custom ROM. If you attempt to take information I am giving to make your own ROM you must decide that it is totally fine for you if you permanently ruin your Treo.
    Please read shadowmites instructions first and also along with my story to get the utmost clarity.
    http://shadowmite.com/romInstruct.html
    http://shadowmite.com/roms.html
    I am a complete unskilled newbie but after days of reading information I was able to make a perfect ROM for my Sprint Treo 650. I gained 4 megs of RAM since I placed in ROM 4 megs of my 3rd party programs that would usually be in RAM. More importantly I got rid of the junk applications that wasted space and occasionally caused me problems, like versamail.
    First off I plugged my treo into the USB charger and synced, I also disabled by anti-virus and firewall software. Just so you know things appear differently depending on what carrier, radio type, PC programs installed and computer OS you have. I have a sprint CDMA Treo 650 and a windows XP home edition desktop computer. Also the files that I downloaded, created, copied or drag and dropped I tried to move or copy as little as possible to prevent corruption. The most important thing I can say is
    (1)Premature Treo deaths have occurred during ROM flashing due to palm OS zips having embedded directory. So I made sure that when I got to place my palmos.zip onto my memory card that it didn't contain any folders, just files. This comes later so this step is out of order but it is the most important so it comes first and will be repeated when we cross that bridge.