1.    #1  
    I'm fairly new to the Treo and just now getting ready to add email and IM to my device. I've read a bit about versamail, snappermail, verichat, and chatter. What are people's opinions on the best of breed?

thanks,
    Kurt
    Chatteremail without a doubt. It just keeps getting better as well. Stick with the stable builds though, the betas can be a bit hairy at times.

Verichat is the gold standard for IM. It has SMS notification, which is a bit of a deal maker for me. It has had some recent instabilities, which is disappointing, but version 2.89 has been pretty good so far. Stay away from 2.86, that was a mess. Verichat requires a monthly fee, so you should try others out. If you don't mind keeping a background connection live, Chatopus is pretty good (tough to set up), otherwise I liked Mundu IM as well.
    Global Posts
    76 Global Posts
    I use VeriChat and Chatter. From looking around, I found VeriChat was the only IM player in town that suited my needs. For email, I just recently switched from Versamail as I got tired of it's strange oddities. I tried Snappermail and was really quite impressed with it, but Chatter's support of IDLE for IMAP, and the fact it feels like a Blackberry, makes it the killer app for me. I've had it for 3 days and already sent in my registration info. And the developer support of Chatter is amazing.

I'd try Snapper and Chatter out, both have trial periods. Play around with em, and go for the one that suits your tastes best. Although I went with Chatter, I found Snapper to be quite good as well.
    verichat is very good especially since it covers aim, ym, and msn. i havent had any problems with the new version-if you are just looking for an aim one however, i would suggest toccer-search the forums for it. it works extremely well and is free.
    Email on the Treo: Chatter. www.chatteremail.com