Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Hi, Everyone,
    I really need some honest advice. I'm about to replace (augment?) my trusty and beloved T3 with a smartphone. Been agonizing over this for about a year & a half... ;-) I've been waiting for the "perfect" device, but I suspect I won't see it released until the week after I get tired of waiting & buy something "close". (Never had that happen, have you?) So here I am. The Treo 650 is available from Cingular for $179.00, Verizon for$299 (would be $199, except I'm being "penalized" for being a current subscriber...) The third possibility is the Samsung 730 from Verizon, but it's pricey
    I'm a Treo noob, but here is what I think I know so far...
    1. Verizon has better coverage, but a CDMA radio has less battery life. The 650 also can not take advantage of the faster EV-DO network, but should still turn in better data speeds than Cingular's Edge (according to verizon, 140kbs...bull****?)
    2. Cingular has, all other things equal (Plan pricing, etc.) rollover minutes, which doesn't seem to suck. Edge w/average speeds 100-ish
    3. Cingular's 650 is less crippled out of the box, but the Verizon 650 can be hacked for blutooth connectivity, etc. (I'm not sqeamish about this)

My biggest question, however is the reliability/quality concerns about the phone itself.
    Is there any reason to believe/hope that the current production units have had most of the bugs worked out? Are the phones from either carrier "better"?
    Which carrier has a better replacement policy (in practice rather than advertised)?
    Do these things just fail randomly, or will beating the hell out of it for a week (software-wise) ferret out its defects?