Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    I found a new application called CityID that displays the City & State for both outgoing & incoming calls. The database is only 335k vs 1.8 Mb for TreoAreaCodes (without the maps). The problem is that it immediately shows trial expired upon installation, even though I've never used it before. Emails to both sales & support bounce back. Has anyone else tried CityID before?

It does not display maps, flags, or state emblems, but that would be fine with me in exchange for more memory.
    Nice find! That program is exactly what I was looking for. The maps and stuff are nice but I really didn't need them.

Even though it's showing trial expired, does the program still work or is the trial expired message getting in the way all the time?
  3.    #3  
    It worked great on an incoming call. On an outgoing call it did not display the city or state & when my call was complete, it said CityID has expired, would you like to register? Kind of annoying, but I think this program has promise if it works well registered.
    $25 is a little pricey imho
    Quote Originally Posted by dutchtrumpet
    $25 is a little pricey imho
    Yeah, I agree. It's neat and all, but $25? I was thinking more along the lines of $8. The voulme of sales for a simple app priced at $8 vs. $25 will for sure make the developer much more $. It is easy and thoughtless to purchase a $5-10 app. Once it gets over $20 it becomes one of necessity. I think most can do without this app at $25...but most would purchase it at a sub $10 price.

Just my opinion, of course. No offense to the developer intended.
    So far the trial's worked fine on my Treo. The only thing that I kinda don't like is that the call log has to be accessed by going to the CityID program. I thought it would integrate into the call log app on the phone. But, nothing's popped up so far about a trial. I've only done a couple of test calls. Maybe it pops up after so many calls?