Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Will be getting a 650 at the end of 8/05. Been reading these forums and you guys sound like you're speaking a different language...lol. But I am learning much.
    I am a real estate agent and am combining my Palm Zire PDA and cell phone with a Treo650, so I am somewhat familiar with OS apps (which is why I chose the Treo650 over the iPAQ 6315).

Okay, basic Treo650: Besides following the manual, what do you suggest I do or use to make my Treo effective for my job use? Software to accessories. As a RE agent, I spend much time in my car.

PC Magazine recommends Cingular Treo 650 over Sprint -- no mention of Verizon, so I am going with Cingular.

Can I use any non-essential apps on SD card only, as to not contaminant and my Treo and keep it bug-free? Like Tom tom GPS?

Please put your advice in Crayola terms!!
    First advice: Do a clean install of the applications instead of importing them from the Zire to the Treo. You don't have to (see links below), but that's how I'd do it..

After that, just install and use the 3rd party applications that you might have used on the Zire (after confirming with their author/publisher that they are compatible with Palm OS 5). That's the beauty of the Treo .. your old applications should work, minimizing the learning process.

Read

http://www.palm.com/cgi-bin/cso_kbURL.cgi?ID=7628
    http://www.palm.com/cgi-bin/cso_kbURL.cgi?ID=14403

for details.
    --
    Aloke
    Cingular GSM
    Software:Treo650-1.17-CNG
    Firmware:01.51 Hardware:A
    I second the suggestion to start with a clean install of your current applications. Also, check out this link (http://www.palmfocus.com/treo650software.php) to ensure your existing apps are Treo 650 compatible and that you have the latest releases.

As far as which carrier, I'd suggest going with who you have for your cell service now assuming they offer the 650 and you are happy with the coverage area.
  4.    #4