1.    #1  
    Hey all,

I'm on vacation, away from my home computer. When I left my home computer, I was having real problems getting my contacts to sync (among other things). I'm new to the Treo, but not to Palm, so this was frustrating...

BUT, here at this house, on a different eMac with NO previous Palm Desktop versions on it, I was able to install the Palm Desktop CD that came with the Treo, create a new user (that matched the name on my Treo), and sync everything just fine (well, I did enter into an endless reset loop due to something that the Treo didn't like in the backups folder -- but after cleaning out the folder, everything's fine).

My question is THIS: When I get back to my home computer [which DOES HAVE old-and-now-updated Palm Desktop software on it], what's the best way to clean out the old Palm Desktop sofware and start over (pretty much like I did on this computer)? What files do I need to ditch? I want to start fresh. I figure that with fresh Desktop software on the computer, I can sync what I already have in my phone with my desktop. But, I am going to have to ditch the old crap that's keeping me from syncing properly there.

What goes? My whole "user" file? Or, just the profile (my named user profile) within it? And, then, do I just "create a new user" (that will be the old user name)?

Just wondering how to start fresh, create a "new" user name (by trashing the old, I guess), and get syncing at home.

Thanks!!!

-Kirk
    First off it would be best to do an over the air download of a back up program unless you already have one so just incase everything dosent go well you always have a back up. Or at least copy your backup folder to a new folder and save it to the desktop, just in case. Then it would probably be best to uninstall and reinstall the palm desktop so you could recreate the luck you had on the other computer.
    Global Posts
    57 Global Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jamespaulritter