Global Posts
    61 Global Posts
    My company is switching carriers, so after reading this forum for the last few weeks, I ordered my Treo 650, which arrives Monday. I have a Tungsten C so I figured I'd get use to the Treo pretty quickly. Are there any suggestions on what to do when it arrives ie: disable anything, don't load anything etc. I'm new to the smartphone world and you guys/gals seem to have a lot of knowledge. Thanks for any guidance/input.
    what service provider do you have?
    Global Posts
    61 Global Posts
    Verizon is what we are switching to...
    1. RTFM!

That's Read The - Umm - FAVORABLE - Manual

2. CHARGE the battery. (while you RTFM)

3. Shop for accessories - you want a spare battery, a case, maybe a dock and cable. Definitely a headset (wired or BT)

WHAT NOT TO DO:

Don't just start buying a slew of apps and load them on without READING not only TFM but also the specs on the app.

Don't DROP your Treo - it's sensitive!

Don't let your animal companions or children play with it. Lots of Treos For Sale with chewed antennae.

Pamela
    Using my treo 650 for business:
    DesignExtend.com
    The number one mistake that new owners of the Treo 650 make when upgrading from another Palm or Treo is the wholesale installation of everything that worked on the old machine to the T650. There are quite a few apps that work perfectly well on the TC that will crash the Treo 650 - the best case for such apps is that they've been worked on by their developers and new versions designed specifically for the Treo 650 are available for your use; else, you'll need to abandon them and try something else.

This means that your first HotSync of your empty Treo 650 should load only PIM data and no 3rd party software. Follow these instructions for the upgrade process. I think it's a good idea to try your Treo 650 in this "clean" state for a day or two before you start loading 3rd party applications to it.