1.    #1  
    This is a post for people looking for help on how to effectively remove the Orange software that comes preloaded on their Treo 650's. The sidebar/dialler software is 10x worse than the original Treo software that comes on the unit - any phone I've ever had from Orange has had some customised 'front end' that NEEDS to be removed to make the phone function as well as it can.

Basically, what I've managed to do is turn my Orange Treo 650 into a proper Treo 650, keeping all the (semi) useful Orange bits such as the SIM book, SIM srvcs etc. No longer will you have to navigate Oranges' sidebar headache to get to the dialpad, and you'll find the phone works much better (and faster) without it.

Please bear in mind that this is the first Palm device I have ever used/owned. I am NOT experienced at this, but found this method to be extremely easy to execute - and recommend you do it STRAIGHT AWAY if you have an Orange Treo 650!

I'd recommend doing this on a clean phone - with no contacts, memos or any other user data - although it's not a problem if you have entered such user data. You will have to do a hard reset once during this 'upgrade' which will wipe all said info anyway (apart from data stored on the SIM card). Just do a HotSync before you start with your normal profile. Also, when upgrading the firmware, hotsync with a different profile name - make a new profile in Palm Desktop called 'FirmwareUpdate' or something and do the firmware updates under this profile. Thus when you've completed the firmware you can revert back to your normal HotSync profile to restore all you backed up data. This means you don't restore all your user data while upgrading the firmware, as 'that would be a waste of time' (War Child, Point Preak) because you still have to do a hard reset.

Things you'll need:
    An SD card to put the firmware update on.
    An SD card reader/writer attached to your PC

The method: