1.    #1  
    By reading these threads, I know that alot of people have the State Farm Personal Articles insurance on their 650. My questions is: did anybody file a claim with them? what is the process? The reason I'm asking is that my phone got stolen tonite and I'm not sure what to do. What are the procedures? Should I fill a police report? Is State farm going to ask for one?
    I am a police officer and I can tell you that any insurance company is going to require a police report.
    Global Posts
    274 Global Posts
    I had mine stolen about a month ago. State Farm will pay for the amount you specified when you added your Treo to your Personal Articles policy. Joshuatree is correct. They WILL require a police report number. Also, they will most likely tell you that they will not renew coverage on the replacement Treo.
  4.    #4  
    so, I should go to the nearest police station and fill out a report.

It's just interesting that they only ask for a police report in case it was stolen. If you said you lost it, they probably won't. The same probably applies if you drop the phone and it's not usable.
  5.    #5  
    but did anybody actually get to fill a claim with state farm? if somebody did, then did they cancel your policy? I called State Farm today and they said they will get back to me the next day.
    right, because if it was stolen then it was a crime to be reported. If it was lost then it's not a crime and not to be reported.
    Global Posts
    274 Global Posts
    horatiub -

Yes, I filed a claim and it was paid - for the amount I specified when I added the Treo to my Personal Articles Policy. This was for my wife's 600. When I tried to add my 650, they claimed that their underwriters advised them against coverage of smartphones, so they would not add my 650 - which was also stolen. I got no reimbursement for my 650. They paid for the 600 because they had to honor the original agreement. My wife and I both have 650's now with no coverage.